A Knife of Dreams by Robert Jordan

BEWARE – SPOILERS

I started reading this book back in September but as always when I go to Uni….my reading trails off horribly so although I wasn’t far from the end, it didn’t get read. I finally attacked it again in the Xmas holidays and although this is the worst way to read a book – I just wasn’t able to appreciate it as much as I should have done, Id forgotten some of the events in the book and didn’t follow it as well as I should have done…either way, it was great to read the Wheel again.

A Knife of Dreams is the eleventh book in the series – so if you haven’t read the earlier books in the series I wouldn’t recommend reading this review. We return to following the characters from the previous novels – Perrin Aybara is determined to reclaim his wife from her captivity within the Shaido Aiel and forges a temporary allegiance with the Seanchan in order to do so. Mat continues to travel away from Ebou Dar with the Travelling Show with Tuon, the Daughter of the Nine Moons in tow whom he starts to build a relationship with even though he finds her so alien and struggles to believe she is destined to be his wife. Seanchan are pursuing them, however, but not intent on her rescue, rather, on her destruction. Elayne continues to try to secure her place on the throne of Andor – her opponents have increased their assaults and she struggles to rally the houses to support her. She continues to search for Black Ajah in Caemlyn – some of which are closer than she thinks. Egwene, now a captive in the White Tower tries to undermine Elaida’s authority even when seemingly her captive. She works to make the Aes Sedai see her as more than just another novice and instead as her true role – as the Amyrlin Seat of the White Tower. She must bring unity to the tower before Tarmon Gai’don.

All the while, the Seals of the prison of the Dark One are failing and the world is feeling his touch – the dead walk, old towns and civilisations appear and disappear  and corridors in Palaces move and shift. Tarmon Gai’don, the Last Battle, is coming.

If you permit me an inappropriate moment – UUUHHHHHHHHHH this book was amazing. Riveting from start to finish, full to the brim with action and adventure and although I spread this book over a long period of time, when I did finally pick it back up again, it was unputdownable. As usual, Robert Jordan at his very best.

Unfortunately, this is the last book written by Jordan himself as he died before he could finish the series and the next novels are written based on his notes by Brandon Sanderson… I really hope this isn’t the last book in the series I enjoy because if Sanderson has ruined this series for me… I can and WILL cry.

The Wheel of Time series is a must read!

knife of dreams

Leave a comment